I Wish I Could Be As Cool As You

I like the song “Let It Rock” by Kevin Rudolf. In fact, N and I used to be ADDICTED to watching the music video on Music on Demand. The last lines of the song are:

“I wish I could be as cool as you/I wish I could say the things you do/But I can’t and I won’t live a lie/No, not this time”

In the music video, co-artist Lil Wayne and his bodyguard point at each other as they are singing “I wish I could be as cool as you/I wish I could say the things you do”.¬† My brother and I would do the same as we were watching it, and after a few million times of listening to the video, I realized I meant it when I pointed at him. I really did wish I was as cool as N (he’s a popular kid and has a ton of friends).

It wasn’t until a week or so afterward when I got to thinking about that again. “Wait a second,” I thought to myself. “Do I really wish I was as cool as N? Would I want to switch lives with him?” That’s when I came to my senses. Why in the world would I want to be anyone else, not just N? Sure, I wouldn’t mind some parts of people: N’s school popularity, my dad’s natural ability to do math, my mom’s superhuman qualities, heck, I wouldn’t mind having as much money as Bill Gates! But (and this goes along with my “True Colors” post a few back), I like me. Sure, there’s things I would change about myself, but isn’t that true of every human being? ¬†Doesn’t everyone have things they wish they could change about themselves? Sure. No one’s perfect.

And did you make the connection between what I just said and the last lines of “Let It Rock”? “But I can’t and I won’t live a lie/No, not this time?” It’s saying that wishing you could be as cool as someone else is a lie. There’s your thought for the day. Happy Easter!

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Be As Cool As You

  1. Happy Easter, WriterKid,
    Your thoughts and good advice are something I can carry in my basket all year through. Now, how did you get to be so wise when you are still so young?
    I must admit, sometimes I wish I could be more like your mom, because she is pretty amazing. Then I decide I do have to be just me, all me, (and still have her be one of my role models :-)

Leave a Reply

